beginner drum question - those electronic drum kits?

FearMeWithMyLP

• Members

hey doodz! I have wanted to play the drums since 7th grade now (i'm a sophomore in college now) and finally decided I need to do it. The only problem is that I have lived in apartments all my life (and probably always will.) I can't really play too loud on a real drumset (as much as I want to) so I think maybe one of those electronic drumsets would suit me. Sounds like a good idea at least!

Are these drumsets any good? Is there a cheap one I can get (when I mean cheap, I imagine these things not being cheap at all. I mean where can I find the cheapest one?)

Thanks!

• Members

Well, I can relate... I spent most of my teen years living in a nice house, with a nice shed out back that I could play my drums in all the time... Then, when i was 16 we moved to a apartment... only thing that kept me alive was the fact I could play at school all day.

You've got about two good options.....

1. Get a practice kit, like the Pearl Travler kit... Comes with mesh heads... PROS.... Feels and reacts like a REAL KIT... Set up like a REAL kit... just muted! You could also get a really cheap kit used, and put mesh heads on it.. Then if you ever want it to be normal, you just gotta put real heads on.....

2. Get a cheaper Electronic kit.... Like the Yamaha DTX kits...

PROS... Lots of cool features, fun to mess with etc...

CONS... Not an authentic drum feel, not setup like a real kit, etc.... This isn't good.. if you LEARN on this kit, then go to play a real one... you'll be out of your elimate....

PRICE>>> You could probably get a decent starter kit, and mesh heads for less than 500.00 bucks..... Those Yamaha kits are new for around 999.00 ... Used, probably around 500.00

Hope this helps......... Jason

• Members

wow thanks drummer_jay!

I didn't know they had mesh heads... how do they sound? Is it like those practice pad sounds? What about cymbols??