Roland TD-5

vamp hunter d

• Members

I don't think they make that one anymore but I may be wrong. I believe the TD-6 isn't made anymore either. The lowest one they have available is the TD-6S (I think).

I recently purchased a TD-8. I got one to trigger my acoustic kicks only. The unit works great. As fast as I can go, the unit has no trouble keeping up and I can go pretty fast.

I fooled around many years ago with a DM4 and had much trouble with missed beats and double triggering. Could have been the quality of the triggers plus I didn't know what I was doing way back then.

This time around I read the manual from cover to cover and got Roland triggers made specifically for kicks. There are more settings than I cared to know about. I am still a beginner with this but the unit is very easy to work with and I am having no trouble whatsoever. I had a great sound happening in about 30 minutes and have constantly been tweaking it ever since.

I asked a question on a message board a few weeks ago about brain recommendations and the Roland came highly recommended. In turn I can highly recommend one from personal experience.

• Members

Originally posted by D.

how is this unit? I was conisdering buying an alesis DM-5, but I heard it cant comprehend fast playing.

For about 95% of the drummers out there, the DM5 would be fine as long as you only use the INTERNAL sounds.

Two issues come into play regarding the Trigger to MIDI Interface:

#1. If you try to trigger sounds in another sound source, there is a definite delay.

#2. If you are using the Heel-Toe technique playing Double-Bass, It's like there is a traffic jam of notes - there are more strikes than it can effectively keep track of.

So, as long as you are not playing an Extreme form of Metal like Black Metal or Death Metal, and you can live with the internal sounds (which I can't stand) - the Dm5 will work just fine for you.

It's just not what I would call a "Professional" grade unit.