Recording help.... Kinda Pathetic

Rumor

• Members

Ok, my band is gonna try recording some home demos. Problem is recording drums. We have no money and can't afford studio time or proper recording gear. I have a digital recorder that can record 2 tracks at a time, a SM57 and a cardiod mic of some sort. That's it. Pretty pathetic I know, but I'm a guitarist.

I have had a little success just putting a mic a ways from the drums and getting decent sound. Not too great, but you can hear stuff. Some thing's seem to cut through alright like the snare, hi-hats, other cymbals and stuff like the kick doesn't come through very well.

Anyway, the drummer's kit is a 7 piece. 2 kicks, 3 rack toms, 1 floor tom, snare with hi-hat, ride, crash, and china splash (sometime in a few weeks will be a splash and a china) for cymbals.

What I'm asking for are tips on how to get the best possible recording with our limited recording gear. Can do several takes with different mic positions as well. I know this may sound like a near impossible feat possibly, but any and all help is greatly appreciated. Thanks ahead of time!

Dustin :o

• Members

There's nothing more annoying than recording a drum kit like that. Tell your drummer to break that down or use a small portion of that kit for the purpose of this demo. Then take one mic, use some isolated headphones and walk around the kit while he's playing to find a well balanced sound. Chances are, this is going to be below waiste level, trust me. Then take your second mic and try to compensate for something that's lacking.

I've done it before and many others have as well. When you're walking around, try to find something that has more kick and snare and less cymbals then you think you're going to end up needing. Cymbals will ALWAYS cut through a mix like this and you'll always have a tough time with kick and snare.