Techniques to avoid muscle fatigue

badgererer

• Members

I get muscle fatigue very quickly on my right foot, and I don't know why really...is there anything I might be doing wrong technique wise?

I get it to a lesser extend in my hi-hat arm as well, but I find that as long as relax its ok.

BTW I see a lot of drummers playing in a "crossover" style, i.e. right arm playing hi-hat over the left arm hitting the snare. I play left hand hi-hat, right hand snare. Is this OK? I'm self taught so I could be doing many things wrong but who knows...I've ben playing for years but never seriously (I've never practised properly)

• Members

Originally posted by badgererer

I get muscle fatigue very quickly on my right foot, and I don't know why really...is there anything I might be doing wrong technique wise?

I get it to a lesser extend in my hi-hat arm as well, but I find that as long as relax its ok.

BTW I see a lot of drummers playing in a "crossover" style, i.e. right arm playing hi-hat over the left arm hitting the snare. I play left hand hi-hat, right hand snare. Is this OK? I'm self taught so I could be doing many things wrong but who knows...I've ben playing for years but never seriously (I've never practised properly)

Well, how you're playing is called "open-handed" but as I'm sure many will tell you; there is no "right" way. If you're comfortable, can do what you want to do then it's all gravy.

Obviously there are things we can all do to improve technique (I've recently raised my throne and as a consequence all the rest of my gear too cos I was sitting too low for my height - I'm 6ft 5) but I don't see how playing open-handed would be cause for concern (in fact I think it can look real boss!).

To be honest, the best thing for muscle fatigue I find is practice! I'm about 6 months into playing again after a 5-6 year break and the difference in my stamina between now and 6 months ago is unreal.