Tuning/Setting up Bass Drum

Chris_NY

• Members

Hello,

I am new to Acoustic drums and conseqently am learning all over again. Previously I had only played an Acoustic Electric Hybrid that I made with a Roland brain and DDrum triggers with mesh heads.

Recently Have moved and as such I have a place to play where noise is not a factor. I have put real heads and cymbals on my kit. I have 2 questions that perhaps you all can give me some insight/direction.

Firstly the bass drum is not as loud as I had thought it would. It can't keep up with the other drums volume wise. Especially the snare which is much louder then the thump of the bass.

I put new heads on all the other drums but with the bass drum I am still using the stock head. I have tuned the bass drum as deep as I can as instructed in the Tuning bible. (left the reso side as loose as possible while maintaining a decent tone) I have a pillow in the drum because I like the tone I get and I also like the rebound from the kick beater with the pillow. There is less slap back and less issues with unintentional double hits. (I like to rest the beater against the head when not being used so that can make you prone to double shots)

My question: Is putting somthing in the lines of a powerstroke on the Bass going to increase volume any? or just improve the tone of the drum. I have heard that putting a vent hole in the Reso sice will actually decrease the sound level. Is this true or would it be worth trying? Ultimately this is only an 18" bass and I know my expectations can't be too high. I know I will need to replace it BUT if anyone has any suggestions on optimizing the sound output of the drum I would much appreciate it.