Help! I'm a guitarist and I need to buy IEM's for my drummer...

Palaver-Paul

• Members

My band has saved up some cash from recent shows, and we want to get started on using in ear monitors at future gigs. I have been given the task of purchasing this and I am not entirely sure on what is needed for a drummer to use IEM's. So here are my inquiries for you drummers...

Is it just the ear buds and a headphone amplifier? I know the soundboard has to plug into some device before it goes to the ear buds, but I don't know what that is.

Are custom ear pieces absolutley necessary? I was looking at Shure SCL2's and they are in my price range.

Is it annoying for a drummer to have a wired IEM setup?

My budget for this is $300 CDN/USD. Any help would be greatly appreciated

• Members

hey Paul,:wave:

I've been using An IEM made by Shure for the last several months, and have really enjoyed using them. I'm not sure of the model number, but I bought them from muscians friend for about 300 bucks. The body pack is what Shure calls a hybrid receiver, as it can be wired, wireless or both. I currently use it in the wired configuration, and have no issues with it using it in this way. Being a drummer, and pretty much stuck in the same spot all night, the wires don't bother me a bit. If the rest of the band decides to go in ear, all you have to do is add the transmitter,(another $300) and the body pack for each member. Hope that helps.

• Members

Do you have a little mixer on the floor next to you when you play? I went to my local music store and the salesman told me that an easy fix for IEM for a drummer would be to get the earphones and a Behringer headphone mixer and put it on the floor next to the drum throne. He didnt mention anything about a bodypack. I was under the assumption that I just plug the ear phones into the mixer, and then into the soundboard.

• Members