What is "tour support"?!

• Members

Hi,

What exactly is "tour support"?! Is this money a record label gives to an artist and is this being determined in the recording contract of the artist?!

Acutally I thought that things like performances and tours where being handled by a bookings agency with which you sign a seperate contract, and that record labels would only pay for peformances when they are for promotional purposes?! Since I am a European dance artist/producer who will most likely sign with an independent dance label, I would also like to know if tour support is different between a dance act signed to an independent dance label versus let's say a boysband signed to a major label?!

Thanks in advance for all good feedback!

Mike.

• Members

Tour support can range from booking, helping with merchandise, to sending out posters, press releases, helping with food and lodging, transportation, setting up promo stuff via radio etc... It could mean just money advanced to a band to pay for some merch and gas. Usually if they are advancing you money they are helping you book, or you are booking shows [or an agent it] that have gurantee's so the label can recoupe.

• Members