Cajon advice?

Mike_E_McGee

• Members

I'm thinking of picking up a cajon to bang around on (frustrated guitarist). I like the look and price of the Meinl pickup cajon, but looking at the reviews on musician's friend the pickup is a piece of crap...of course I have no way of knowing what that user hooked it up to.

I found a few videos of it on youtube, but all the videos I've found show the cajon mic'd externally. That's raising a red flag for me.

Has anyone used it? Can you share your experiences? Is there another model you would recommend? I'm completely new to percussion (beyond thumping the body of my guitar, stomping my foot, and occasionally finger drumming on the steering wheel). Still, I'm not looking for something entry level, I want something that's gig worthy. Having a built in pickup with 1/4" out would be a MAJOR plus (I'm out of xlr's on my p.a.)

Any and all advice appreciated, thanks!!

edit: Valter Percussion seems to make just what I'd like, but at a price I can't afford. :(

• Members

I have the LP Mario Cortes cajon and in my opinion, it has the best sound out of all the "stringed" cajons I've played, especially the Meinls. I played a Meinl at Sam Ash once and I broke the knob off by turning it, maybe have been a fluke though :confused: I have yet to play a Fat Congas stringed one yet but I have played their Cuban Bajo cajon and if you're going for more bass that one is quite amazing.

As far as getting one with a pickup goes I can't help with that. But I'd rather get a better quality cajon without a pickup than sacrificing quality of sound for that feature.

*edit* In fact, you should buy my cajon so I can buy this ;)

http://lpmusic.com/Product_Showcase/Whats_New/soul-cajon.html

• Members