I want to do trance music what do I need?

Hawk44

• Members

Thanks evan_02,

I am going to download the demo and check it out. Do you have experience with this product? i have worked with software before and found most of it to be such a hasel......I like to be able to hit switches and turn knobs.......I just want to know if this is the best place to start?

While I have you I also wanted to get some info on DJ equipment.

I have been told to get Technics 1200s and Pioneer DJX600 but I am new to this, just starting out and really don't want to drop 2grand on equipment. What is good to start with. I do not plan to gig out......I am a beginner. This is for my own pleasure at home. I noticed that some people like vinyl and some like cds. Which is better to begin with and most affordable. If you could recommend some equipment for the budget minded that is still of decent quality, I would appreciate it.

Thanks

hawk

• Members

Keep in mind: you are kind of asking about 2 different things - Producing, and Spinning or DJ'ing. Basically Reason is for the producing and the 1200's are for the spinning. This can be complicated for a beginner to understand since many DJ's produce as well as spin, and much of the general public thinks that Trance DJ's like Oakenfold actually make the music that they spin, or that they are even making it live on stage.

If you're just starting and want to find out if you're into it or not, you don't have to drop a lot of money.

A) get 1 cheap turntable, anything with a the ability to adjust pitch. You can maybe find one of these for $50 or less. Also needed is a slip mat (felt, not rubber!). If the turntable does not come with one, one would cost around $10. Make sure the needle is decent, if its all bent and {censored}ty it will wreck your records. You can pick up a new DJ cartridge for around $20 - just make sure it is designed for DJ use.