own record label...whats really needed

• Members

hi... i write and produce to a standard that i think (not only me:-) is of a good enough standard to be released.. nothing major league...but im sure it'd sell if it got the push..... im also a proffesional graphic designer......

what do i actually need to release the tracks myself ... is it really just a matter of getting a load of cds pressed and then investing loads of time promoting or what.. ive really got no idea whats needed and would appreciate any help... advice etc..

• Members

Yep thats about it, you get a bunch of CDs pressed and promote your butt off. Play gigs, send them to people, send to raidio.. whatever you have to do to raise the demand for your CD.

Once you are selling CDs regularly, everything else will become alot clearer as to what your next step will be.

• Members

Here's a short list of what you'll need to run your label successfully :

- Money. Start up capitol to print CDs and promo materials. It might be a good idea to register your label as a business and open a business bank account.

- A good accountant. It's better to pay a professional to do the books of your business.

- A good lawyer. Overkill? Maybe. But long term, you'll want to consult a lawyer from time to time to deal with tax issues and the like.

• Members

I would also recommend getting a liscence as a small business, opening a D/B/A bank account for your label and finding a good tax person. By being a legitamate business you'll have to pay taxes on sales, but you will also be able to write off all of your equipment and CD prodution costs as expenses. You also have 5 years with the small business plan before you are expected to show a profit.

• Members

Originally posted by alienesque

i know.. i need as much help as i can get:-)... did you get there by accident then?