Newbie needs help

Dreamz

• Members

I'm a professional keyboardist who is interested in learning some skills in scratching. My idea is kinda like those NU metal bands where the DJ scratches along with the band.

Can someone please advice me on where to start? What to buy? I'm totally clueless.

• Members

I thing when you're going to learne the scratch dj skills you best buy a Vestax mixer 06,07... one of those series.

and a technics turntable. they are stil on the top of turntables.

greets scrolly

• Members

You'll need patience, be prepared to spend a looooong time practising. I dont know anyone who sounds listenable and has been doing it less than a year. Ive been doing it 3 months now and while I've got most tricks down, I lack the flow, combo ability and general ability that makes scratching *musical*. I hope your not doing this just as a gimmick...

As for the turntable, I'd say Vestax PDX-2000. I've got one and skips once every couple weeks at most, and I'm not even using decent needles! But be warned, its long-term life remains to be seen whereas the 1200's is proven.

• Members

If you want to keep your soul go with Technics 1200's! When a product stays on top for thirty years it is a safe bet. Like they said the Vestax tables look neat and have some features that the Technics don't but they feel like plastic and they don't have the torque of Technics. Also they have not been proven to last a lifetime like a pair of 1200's will. I also play keyboard and synth. My setup is as follows:

2 - Technics SL1200-M3D's

1 - Numark SM-3 Mixer w/ Infinity Fader

1 - Boss SP-303 Sampler

1 - Korg MS2000 Synth

1 - Boss DR-202 Drum Machine