OT: Starting my new CNC career Monday...

RoboChrist

• Members

...and I'm nervous as hell! I got the full tour today and it looks like a dream company which does mold and pattern making for consumer and automotive industries. They even have their own foundry, nothing is outsourced.

the only problem is my experience. It's zero. I graduated from a two year college program and that was two years ago, that's it...no on-the-job experience. Help!

If any CNC guys or machinists out there can give me some advice on this exciting and ever growing career, I really appreciate it

• Members

Originally posted by RoboChrist

...and I'm nervous as hell! I got the full tour today and it looks like a dream company which does mold and pattern making for consumer and automotive industries. They even have their own foundry, nothing is outsourced.

the only problem is my experience. It's zero. I graduated from a two year college program and that was two years ago, that's it...no on-the-job experience. Help!

If any CNC guys or machinists out there can give me some advice on this exciting and ever growing career, I really appreciate it

Ive grown up on a CNC machine shop. Most CNC operators will be trained on the job with no experience, so yours is fairly typical. Its no difficult to run or even progam a CNC machine, machine setup can be tricky, but chances are you wont see any of that for a few years.

Most guys we hire come in with no experience and are running a machine well in a week and picking up the knowledge as they go. Thats how its been done in this industry forever.

Good luck and most importanat be safe!:thu:

• Members

Originally posted by sultan417

Ive grown up on a CNC machine shop. Most CNC operators will be trained on the job with no experience, so yours is fairly typical. Its no difficult to run or even progam a CNC machine, machine setup can be tricky, but chances are you wont see any of that for a few years.