some help id'ing a bass please

berto_pee

• Members

hi, i'm looking to buy my first bass and have stumbled across what the seller has labeled an Ibanez silver cadet bass. I've done a bit of research but i haven't been able to find anything on ibanez ever making a silver cadet bass.

if you guys wouldn't mind could you give me a hand id'ing this bass and whether or not it's any good, also how much you think it's worth?

01010401020701030420070602b072810fa15297

010107010204010310200706025b40e609de61df

010200010300010412200706022bb0c3d236519e

thanks alot

-albert

• Members

As far as I can tell, Ibanez did make a Z Silver Cadet. It's model number is ZTB100. They built them from 1994 to 1996. I gonna guess that it's worth $100-$150. But I'm no expert, so I could be way off.

From the Ibanez website:

I'd like to find out the value of an old Ibanez guitar no longer produced?

Ibanez only suggests list prices for our new instruments, we cannot estimate the current market value of an older instrument. We can say that as the popularity of Ibanez instruments has increased, so have the prices of our older instruments. However, Ibanez guitars have always been a good value, it

• Members

There's two Silver Cadet guitars on eBay right now, and the headstocks both read "Silver Cadet by Ibanez," so I'm guessing it was a precursor to the "GIO" beginner level of guitars.

The Ibanez TR basses of the era seem to go for $100-$150 (less for lower models [the 50] more for higher [the 500]) used on eBay, and by the look of the Silver Cadet instruments, I'd guess they're a bit lower quality and would fetch a lower price of the TR basses. I actually have a TR bass ('96 model, IIRC) that used to be my mom's that is a nice, solid beginner bass...but it's not worth much.

Hope this helps.

Dustin

• Members