NTOT : Anyone in Audio Production?

PaulyWally

• Members

I work in audio for television production. If that is of interest, bring on the questions!
:thu:

Well, I don't see much formal education for audio production. What does one typically need to get into that job market? What do you need to know? What skills to employers want to see?

I'm just not sure where to start.

• Members

Ok, I am a sound assistant/sound editor here in lovely strike filled Los Angeles, so maybe I can help a bit.

1st

Make sure you know what kind of audio production you want to get involved with:

-Post production audio for film/television, editing and mixing, foley, sound design

-Production audio, for film/tv (boom mike, recording dialogue)

-Live audio for television or sporting events

-Music studio type recording

2nd

Where do you live? Are you willing to relocate for a job? Can you afford a pay cut?

I know I had to move to LA to do what I wanted to do. I also had to start at the very bottom. I was a runner when I first got here. Got paid nothing and ran around LA all day. But it payed off, I met tons of contacts and by the time the runner gig was up I had two job offers.

The biggest question is to ask yourself exactly what you want to do. Set a goal and list all the pros and cons.

Post some more info and we can look at your options more.

• Members

Go to a full time recording studio w/resume.

If you get hired, it's generally as a gopher until you can move up to 2nd assistant to the assistant engineer. You can spend all the $$ you want for an education, but this is generally where you'll start. You'll make coffee and run for snacks at all hours of the night, then get to clean up(starting with the bathroom) when the session is done, and make absolutely SURE everything is perfect for the next session.