Serious pitch issues

mparsons

• Members

Hello,

I'm trying to learn how to sing. I've been playing guitar for a few years, and I've studied a good bit of theory. I've got a good background with harsh vocals, so my breath support and actual technique is fairly good, and my range is pretty wide. My main problem is that I can't hit notes. And I have a hard time hearing whether or not I'm higher or flatter than a note.

Everyone I talk to about this says they just "know" when they're on pitch, but I can't really tell, at all. Sometimes I'm on, sometimes I'm an interval off but in key, and a lot of the times I'm no where even close.

I feel like there's a breakthrough I need to make before I can really improve, or get started for that matter, but I have no idea what I should do to get there. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

• Members

This is just like anything: Practice makes perfect! The details will come in time. After a few hundred hours of singing along to CD's you'll start to get closer and closer.

I would say that the most important thing when you start to learn something is to try to find the joy in it, so you don't start worrying about not making it. It's all about mileage. The first months is not important to be perfectionist, have fun!

• Members

stick your fingers in your ears. not joking. you hear yourself better that way. practice soulfedge (do re me, etc.). practice tone matching on a keyboard (or your instrument of choice).

• Members

If you know your range, make a CD that has a pentatonic scale that starts at the bottom and goes to the top. Then sing along with that CD with each of the major vowel sounds. Do this over and over and over.

You will be doing two things:

1. Training your ear to recognise particular pitches

2. Training your vocal chords on where to go for particular pitches.