electricians? a question

mlwarriner

• Members

is THHW the right wire to use to run a couple of circuits worth of bedroom plug-ins?

I'm not an electrician, but I'd think if you had to ask a basic question like this one then you shouldn't be wiring wiring your bedroom outlets.

As you know I work at a college and work with one particular industrial electrician who teaches here. As he told me one day when I was asking an electrical question: "Anybody can make the light bulb come on; however, not everyone can do so safely. There's a reason houses burn down."

• Members

I'm not an electrician, but I'd think if you had to ask a basic question like this one then you shouldn't be wiring wiring your bedroom outlets.

As you know I work at a college and work with one particular industrial electrician who teaches here. As he told me one day when I was asking an electrical question: "Anybody can make the light bulb come on; however, not everyone can do so safely. There's a reason houses burn down."

actually, i know exactly how i need to wire it. i just was asking if THHW wire was ok or if i needed to use XHHW because of the power leak factor.

• Members

http://www.mlec.com/Homeown.htm

Including tables for derating:

http://www2.iccsafe.org/states/virginia/Residential/PDFs/Chapter%2036_Branch%20Circuit%20and%20Feeder%20Requirements.pdf

There are plenty more with google: THHW "branch circuit"

The primary things are safety, ampacity, and color code(white, black) be correct. Even if you own the place, if sold with undisclosed wiring mods and/or no color coding to your wiring later someone gets hurt or killed then lawyers may want to talk to you. We've run across fubar wiring in old farmhouses out here in the Boonies of Texas. Fixed a lot of them, moved out of one.

XHHW would be preferred if you're wiring life support equipment(hospital) circuits, want more flame retard capability, or lower capacitance(you called leak) for some reason.

2 cents worth.