A question of 2 Peaveys: Which one would you choose?

Ovid9

• Members

Hi all. I'm a denizen of HCAF, but wandered over here to ask a question. I'd like to get a bass head and bass and there are a couple inexpensive used Peavey head's for sale.

One is a Peavey Nitrobass and the other a Peavey Mark VI. The prices are about equal. The Mark VI is a bit cheaper, but the Nitrobass has been on my local CL forever, so I'm pretty sure I could talk them down a little.

Of the two, which would you all choose?

Thanks!

• Members

Hi Ovid.

Can't help much, I'm a bass noob. First bass, and my 2x10 are under the Christmas tree. Wife let me test them, and for now, I'm more than happy with a guitar amp.

A friend from electric guitars got a Peavey Renown, kept the cab, and speakers, and sold me the guts for next to nothing. Till spring, when I can use the garage again, this is it's temporary home, the shell from a Peavey VTM60 I gave my bro in law.

P1050530.jpg

No handle, or feet, I put them on the new shell. Here it is next to son's VTM60.

P1050493.jpg

He wanted it to match his cabs,

P1050414.jpg

that he has had since the 80s, and beat to {censored}.

P1050368.jpg

Pic of bass, cuzz I just want to look at it, since I can't see it in person for a few days.

P1050534.jpg

• Members

Dude, sweet VTMs! I just got a VTM120 a couple weeks back. I haven't gotten to play it all that much (something about it being TOO FREAKING LOUD or something....blah blah blah :D ).

What'd you pay for the Renown? That's a pretty slick setup ya have for it. These are both around $200ish.

I like your bass too! Have fun with it!

• Members

I saw your thread when you got it, glad it's up, and running. I stay on electric guitar mostly, but read a lot on the amps forum, hardly ever post there. :cop: Why can't we all just get along. :lol: