How would you handle this? gig sceduling question

• Members

I'm new to booking gigs and I need some advice from some of you pros. Someone else always did this in the other bands I've been in.

To try to keep it short here's what happened.

My band only plays 2 or 3 gigs per month, by choice, because that's all we can do and still have a life.

I booked a gig for a Friday night with a new place about a month ago. They just remodeled and were doing bands inside on Fridays and outside on Sundays. Don't ask me why.

They decided to switch to Sats. & Suns. and the owner calls me yesterday and leaves me a message to see if we can switch to Sat.

We'd rather play Sats. so I call our soundman to check his availability. He plays in a Floyd tribute band and is playing Sat. so no go. And he ain't real happy about losing the gig on Fri. Not good.

So I call our backup and before he can get back to me I check the bar's website and another band is listed for that night.

It seems as though we got bumped. I know that this stuff happens but I don't know how to deal with it. I don't want to burn any bridges. I'm sure the owner will offer me some other dates but I already put the 17th out there. I also did some promotion and I had about 100 people coming myself.

So I have to call the owner now and work something out. Any advice on what tack to take? Besides quitting? :)

• Members

You should be calling the bar owner/mgr. and explain it to him. Like right now! Maybe they made a typo?

Tell em you have a hundred people expecting to see you there.(That is if you do.)

I don't know you, but some people exaggerate. Whatever you tell him, make sure you deliver it.

They decided to switch to Sats. & Suns. and the owner calls me yesterday and leaves me a message to see if we can switch to Sat.

If he left you a message and you never called back he may have felt you were blowing him off.

• Members

Originally posted by fingerpicker