Strange invitation to audition. What the hell??

• Members

I'm an amateur guitarist with original songs on youtube and today I get an email inviting me to audition for a band. I give my phone number to talk to them about it, and they call inviting me to this "big house in the hills" (this is Santiago, Chile by the way) Saturday to try out. So I say: "well ok but first why don't you send me your demos, since you've heard mine?" The answer was strange and evasive, like they were afraid to show off their {censored}. Then they said I sounded like a really friendly guy...stranger still.

So I'm thinking one of the following...

1. They're gay and wanna gang rape me

2. They want to steal my gear

3. They suck really bad and are embarrassed to show their music

Any thoughts?

• Members

I'm guessing a combo of 1 & 2 or they are just starting out and don't have a demo yet. Maybe they just decided to start a band and thought they would pick up an experienced guy to help them get going. Either way, I'd bring a friend or two with if you decide to go.

• Members

+1 on requiring mp3s. i can't think of a more efficient way to know whether or not their style and skills are up to par. any band without the resources/know-how to throw a mic up and record a practice are going to be equally useless and inept the rest of the time. don't waste your time going their way unless they're willing to come YOUR way. unless they're a super-famous chilean act or something, of course!

• Members

+1 on requiring mp3s. i can't think of a more efficient way to know whether or not their style and skills are up to par. any band without the resources/know-how to throw a mic up and record a practice are going to be equally useless and inept the rest of the time.