Beginning Video Mixing

Optigon

• Members

Hey, I'm new to the whole videomixing thing, but I -really- wanna do it. What are the best mixers for the low, medium, and high price ranges? Also, do modern digital videomixers use "samples" or something to that effect?

Thanks!

Optigon

• Members

Are you talking about live switching or editing?

For switching the high end stuff is made by grassvally and cost upwards of $50,000.

The cheepest switcher is the Videonics MX-1 video mixer at under $1000, then the MXpro under $2000, the panasonic MX-20 $???? and MX-50 $4000. None of these will give you broadcast quality.

The cheepest switcher that will output at broadcast quality is the brandnew Video toaster 2. This is a computer based system that starts around $3000 + a computer. This requires a top of the line computer(Athlon XP 1500+ or P4 1.4 Ghz minimun). With the $2000 SX-8 expansion you can live switch over 8 cameras/video sources. This system also has software for titleing, 3d CG, downstream key, editing, etc...

Check out the videotoster website www.videotoaster.com

I'm currently researching diffrent switching solutions for our community tv station. Right now the video toaster seems to be the best thing out their and it kills alot of birds with one stone. For the price it can't be beat.

• Members

Yea any of these systems would work well for that. The MX-1 is maybe alittle too low res, the MXpro might be ok. What are your sources, prerecorded video or live camers? What kind of cameras are you using?

Their isn't any good forums anywhere for live video, the best thing I have found is the rec.video.production news group which you can access from google groups.

What kind of budget do you have?

[This message has been edited by lordgarak (edited February 23, 2002).]

• Members

Originally posted by lordgarak:

What are your sources, prerecorded video or live camers? What kind of cameras are you using?