par 64 vs. par 38

ashivraj

• Members

Originally posted by ashivraj

im brand new to lighting, i know nothing about it. dumb questions to follow.

what's the difference between par 64 and par 38?

AND, more importantly, what does par mean, and the number after it?

thanks in advance

AS

there is ALSO a difference of up to 900 watts of lighting power,,, the PAR64's do well for largewr areas, and longer(by far) throws than a PAR38.. the PAR 38 is basically your average yard floodlamp with a stage lighitng housing,, not a lot of light coming from it,, especially when you cover the lamp with a colored gelframe,,,

for low power situations, up close,small clubs, etc...., maybe the PAR38's are practicle, and useful... but on larger stages, for lots of color wash, banks of 64's are standard issue....

• Members

One thing I wished I had done was purchased PAR 56's vs. 64's the difference in wattage is almost 1/2 (300 vs. 500) and in smaller situations the 56's are all you need. The half wattage is half as hot and allows you to run basically twice the number of lights (of course running twice the lights brings the heat factor back up, but oh well it looks cool)

foooz

• Members

Originally posted by Foooz

One thing I wished I had done was purchased PAR 56's vs. 64's the difference in wattage is almost 1/2 (300 vs. 500) and in smaller situations the 56's are all you need. The half wattage is half as hot and allows you to run basically twice the number of lights (of course running twice the lights brings the heat factor back up, but oh well it looks cool)

foooz

I've seen PAR46 lights w/ raykits installed that used 600watt DYS lamps... now talk about compact !!!! and they worked great~~lot's of throw,,, lots of light output..

• Members