Need Lighting Ideas-Assistance

VegasShow

• Members

Hello All,

I'm new to lighting so here goes.

I'm running sound for a single performer currently with no lights since the venues we are in corrently have lighting, but I would like to have our own lighting & DMX.

We normally work on small to medium stages. I would like to work in a 15'X15' area (remember, one performer). My performer played in Vegas for many years (worked with Tom Jones, Sinatra, Motown etc.) and I would like to have a flashy show using DMX.

I have a 15' truss that we are having a backdrop made in two reversable colors, black and red.

We have on set of 4 par cans on a tripod (and a DMX Operator still in the box ). I would like to get another tripod and use different lighting other than par cans to flood the stage in colors + a couple of DMX lights like DJ Spot 250's to kick it up a notch. Maybe something mounted on the truss too to have a "wow" effect. I would also like to spot the performers face or full body shot.

Any ideas from members here would be appreciated, or maybe you can point me in a different direction, and open to used equipment offers too by PM'ing me.

Thank you!

• Members

From my limited experience I would say if the house has some form of lighting that's what I would use rather than toting my lights around. Any chance I get to use the house lights and sound that's what I do. As long as it is adequate of course. I thought my band needed it's own light show, until we got it and found out it is more trouble than it is worth in the small clubs we play in. There was one club we were playing that didn't have any lights at all. That is why we bought the lights we bought, but we have played there 1 time since we bought the lights and we have since made the decision not to play there again.

• Members

There are some venues that we need lights to make the show "happen."