help me on rack wiring

• Members

I'm sorry if this has been covered before. I'm new at this and maybe alittle thick headed (plus I've got somebody telling me I'm wrong) so I need some help.

I've purchased the following equipment based on your guys recommendations.

Allen-Heath mixwizard 16/2

Crest CPX 2600

Crest CPX 900

Tape Deck

Speakers are:

Mains - Peavey sp2g - 350 watt rms

Subs - ? - looking into it, not 100% sure, don't want to mislead.

Monitors - 2 - Nady wedge, I believe 100 to 150 watt.

Haven't got the money for eq's yet, but was told we could live without it for awhile. Now I need to get it all wired up. Trying to figure out how to wire it all up.

Tell me if I'm right or wrong, please.

The left and right on the mixer is xlr. Go from there to where on the CPX 2600. I was wanting one channel for mains that are wired parallel, and one channel for the subs. The 2600 has a built in crossover.

The aux 1 and 2 on the mixer are 1/4 inch trs. Run from there to the CPX 900 Channel a and b, and from the Speakon outputs on the amp to the wedge monitors.

The tape deck has rca input and output. To play the tape thru the board, I'd adapt over to 1/4 inch and return it to a stereo return?

To record I would run from the 1/4 inch jacks marked a and b on the mixer to the input on the recorder?

Does this sound reasonable? Sorry to bug you guys with this, but I don't want to damage anything.

Thanks,

Rick

• Members

I've got someone telling me that we have to somehow connect the 2 amps together. This doesn't make any sense to me. Could someone explain how we would get the mains and subs wired correctly?

Thanks,

Rick R (Not Ricklaww)

• Members

You say I'll have no tone control. I'm assuming you mean no eq from the board. How would you suggest I wire it so I would have control?

Thanks for the compliment on the equipment. Since I'm just a "dumb" musician :) , I figure if I ask for expert advise, if I can, I might as well listen to it.

RickR

• Members