Direct Box - active or passive???

• Members

Hey guys,

Some background - I'm a guitarist, and my band is moving to everyone going direct live. We hire out the sound or use the house system and engineer, so the system and available equipment is typically different each time.

I'm using a POD XTLive (don't hate me!!) and it gets the job done for me (I'm in a mellencamp tribute band). We can keep the stage volume nice and low this way, so that's nice. After having two peavey classic amps blow on me in mid set in the past 6 weeks, I'm fully prepared to not haul a tube amp around anymore. The sound company typically provides DIs for everyone, but I'm concerned with an electric, acoustic, bass, and two keyboard inputs that we may not have enough some times. We had just enough at our last show, so I'm looking at just buyng my own to have on hand if we need it. So far I've seen the behringers being used live, up to the radial J48 I think.

So my question (finally) is should I buy an active or passive DI to use with the XTLive? It has line level 1/4 outputs.

I've got my eye on something like one of the EWIs from audiopile. Seems like a good value, and I've bought things from them before and been very happy. Will a passive one do me any good, or should I just go with an active? Looking at the under $100 range.

I have a feeling some sound guys will not be happy with me running the POD, but last week's guy thanked us all profusely for all going direct. The week before, when my amp blew and I had to switch to the POD mid song, the guy said "it didn't sound terrible." I'll take it!

Thanks for your input.

• Members

Oh Contrare (did I spell that right?)

Usualy I would thank you for using a pod (as long as you get a good tone out of it).

To answer your question. A passive DI should work for you just fine.