Will this power amp work with these monitors?

• Members

I am thinking of purchasing some cheap floor monitors for my band. We have a Crown CE1000 power amp that is 450w/channel @4ohms. We want to buy 3 Behringer P1220F floor monitors and run them off this amp. Here is the info on the floor monitors:

Continuous Power: 80 Watt

Peak Power: 320 Watt

Type: 2-way full-range speaker

Frequency Response: 60 Hz to 20 kHz

Impedance: 8 Ohm

Sound pressure level: 98 dB (Full Space; 1 W @ 1 m)

Dispersion: 90 x 40 degrees

Crossover frequency: 3.5 kHz

Is this amp strong enough to power them? Should we daisy chain all of them together? I am new to this stuff and don't really know much about pro-audio.

Thanks for any advice.

• Members

Whilst it depends on how loud your band is, an 80w monitor is unlikely to be very much use. And as I understand it, if you try to 'get away with' underpowered monitors you'll end up pushing them hard and getting a nasty sound and some feedback too, so it wouln't be worth it really.

Also if you used those three monitors with that amp, you could end up putting 225w into an 80w speaker and, well, it's got a rated power figure for a reason you know...

You'd be better get fewer monitors, but better ones.

• Members

I am new to this stuff and don't really know much about pro-audio.

Well it's good that you're asking questions now, before it all goes wrong (and gets expensive). Read the following, and repeat often:

Behringer makes crap

Now that we have that out of the way, tell us what type of music your band plays, what the FOH gear is (so we know what you'll need for monitors) and what your budget is. I bet we can make some good recommendations.

• Members

That is why I am asking. I was looking around and those Behringer monitors got some good reviews, and the price is certainly tempting, but I wanted to ask people that actually knew about it instead of some moron posting reviews on a survey site. That is why I came to you guys.