Keyboard suggestion for music major

Siggy

• Members

My son graduates high school this year and has been accepted into the College of Music at Ohio State University. As a voice major he is required to learn to play piano. We have a standard piano in our home but we were discussing the pros and cons of getting him a keyboard to practice on in his room.

First of all he's a beginner and I doubt if a lot of flash is necessary. If need be he can upgrade later.

What should we look for in a basic model? Full size keys? 88 keys?

IS brand a factor?

I'm a bassist so what do I know ;-).

Any insight is appreciated,

Siggy

• Members

Siggy- Dont let the price of the P-250 scare you away. When most people think of keyboards, they think of cheap casios that they see in department stores. The P-250 is really an instrument that your son can grow with, musically.

• Members

I would actually recommend against the P-60; the dynamic response from key to sound seems to me to be somewhat unrealistic. It doesn't use as many samples as the P-120 and P-250 and so the sound of the instrument doesn't change accurately from soft notes to loud ones. The difference between your real piano and the P-60 will be much more noticable (read; distracting?) than the difference between the higher-end models in the series.

Kiru

• Members

I do not think you are correct. I believe it uses the same keyboard and same samples for the piano as the P120. In any case, the difference would be minimal for all practical purposes save high quality recording.

For learning piano, feel is much more important than sound quality. Most living rooms (let alone bedrooms!) do not have the acoustics to make the extra cost worth it. Ditto headphones. Let's not be too elitist.

On the other hand, I just sold my P60 to get a P120, so if budget is not a concern, get the best you can afford! The gift of music is priceless.

--Mike

• Members

DON'T HELP THE BUCKEYE!!! DON'T HELP THE BUCKEYE!!! :mad: :mad:

:D