Load time for samplers

Midiguy

• Members

I'm new to samplers, and just got a used AKAI S5000. I don't have any samples yet, other than the one floppy disk that came with the unit. I've read a lot around here about the time it takes to load samples, and someone said it can take up to 30 minutes to load a 16 meg sample from a SCSI zip drive.

Does this mean that every time I want to use say 100 megs of samples to play a sequence that I have to wait like 2 hours for it to load from a SCSI hard drive into RAM? I think this would be enough to make me sell it and just upgrade my synth (JV-2080) to either a Fantom or a Motif.

• Members

I have an a4000 by Yamaha, and load times sucked for samples before I put in an internal hard drive. I used to spend 15 minutes loading samples from floppies into the thing while setting up for a show, blahh, I hated it. Now, I just pull all my samples from the hard drive, and it takes about a minute, this is about 30 megs worth of samples though. I don't know how long a scsi connection would take, as I have yet to go that route.

• Members

I used to use the sampler in my Triton Pro via SCSI using an external SCSI Zip100 drive (from 1996 - and still works! no click of death yet - knock on wood right?) and even for loading drum samples it was rather painfully slow. Might have to do with the SCSI-2 interface but the Zip drive itself as slow as hell. I'd think a hard drive would go a whole lot faster.

Course it sure beats using the floppy drive.. Yuck.. :p

• Members

Originally posted by Midiguy

someone said it can take up to 30 minutes to load a 16 meg sample from a SCSI zip drive.

That would have been me. My 'sampler' is a Yamaha EX5 which has PAINFULLY slow load times. If I do any live work which will require samples, I load my samples into the Flash RAM before the date of the performance. Then they're ready as soon as I turn her on. :)

• Members