Just asked to go on big tour: Ha. Need a live synth...

joestanman

• Members

Jeez... some friends of mine are in a band that is going to go on tour in late janurary for like 2 months. They have been talking about adding a synth player for a while now, just to add effects and thicken the sounds up, as well as add quirky melodies to things. So, they asked me to do it. Problem is: Im a drummer. So, yeah... I need to get a synth. Something fairly intuitive, and not super expensive... Old school, new school... whatever... I considered getting two... Any ideas? My friends keep talking about the ION. Need help!

• Members

Originally posted by joestanman

Problem is: Im a drummer. So, yeah... I need to get a synth.

and learning how to play synth is pretty important too. it looks easy but it's not. especially for busy drummers who think the more notes the merrier. but I'll trust you know what you're doing and assume you're not a wanker for the sake of this thread ;) .

so,

do you know what your price range is, joe?

and how about any particular sounds or songs you've heard that you think might be comparable to what you're looking for?

what is the music like? are there any mp3s we can hear to chime in what we would do or recommend?

good luck!

oh yeah- and just because all guitar players and drummers seem hellbent on buying canned roland gear doesn't mean you have to as well. but don't let that deter you- roland has some fine products as several forumites will soon point out. :D

/johnny

:)

• Members

Originally posted by eatsdrummachine

and learning how to play synth is pretty important too. it looks easy but it's not. especially for busy drummers who think the more notes the merrier. but I'll trust you know what you're doing and assume you're not a wanker for the sake of this thread
;)

so,

do you know what your price range is, joe?

and how about any particular sounds or songs you've heard that you think might be comparable to what you're looking for?