Spam: Es Rack, $900 OBO

• Members

ok well this has been short lived affair. i bought it knowing i may have to sell but i chanced it anyways.

i know there are some revisions possibly being made about these sorts of threads........so if i am breaking new rules then i apologize.

anyhow, if anyone is interested..... let me know. i can wheel and deal if need be i can go lower so long as it isnt something outrageous like $600 or something. its basically brand new (2 months old) and has all manuals, box, everything. thanks.

• Members

Just FYI,

Legally, if you sell your Motif ES Rack, you might also need to destroy all of the samples you have made of it.

(I saw your "Does Anyone Sample Their Own Keyboards?" thread).

** Edited ** (included the word "might", since I am no legal expert. I wanted to make that clear).

• Members

Just out of curiosity, just how far does that extend. I mean, if you wrote a bunch of music that used it heavily, I believe that would constitute a sample. What separates the two in legal terms?

• Members

Originally posted by J3RK

Just out of curiosity, just how far does that extend. I mean, if you wrote a bunch of music that used it heavily, I believe that would constitute a sample. What separates the two in legal terms?

No. Manufacturers/developers who store their sample data in "digital format" are very clear with regards to licensing:

-- songs, performances made with the device are legal

-- resampling the basic sounds (i.e. to make your own soft-sampler version of the instrument) is not

A person can probably legally re-sample an instrument for personal use (like to play with another keyboard or sampler) as long as you own the instrument. One you no longer have it, you would have to destroy the data.

• Members

Originally posted by MartinHines

JLegally, if you sell your Motif ES Rack, you would also need to destroy all of the samples you have made of it.

Wow - I've never heard that before...do you have a source on that?