Need Advice: Synth shopping in Tokyo

GregCh

• Members

I am travelling to Tokyo for a week in September.

I want to visit stores with keyboards

Anyone know Tokyo from here ? I figure there are a few travellers around.

I have googled ' sushi synths ' and

'shakuhachi sweetwater ' and I am not finding anything

• Members

A few years ago I was at a "Sofmap" synthesizer shop in Tokyo. It's a chain for used electronics AFAIK. The shop I visited was just a few blocks away from the big Akhibara electronics mall. Should be fairly easy to find. Amazing place, absolutely crammed with synth gear of all kinds, new and old.

I think there are HC'ers with real knowledge on the subject (living there). Surely they will chime in soon.

DJ

--

• Members

Although I'm mainly a guitarist, I did live in Tokyo for a couple of years so maybe I can help you out. The main musical instrument district in Tokyo is in Ochanomizu. Most of the stores are stocked with guitars, but since at the time I wasn't that interested in electronic music, I didn't really pay attention to the keyboard stock. However, many of these stores do everything (vintage amps, keys, guitars, effects), in fact there was one store that had a whole floor (albeit small) dedicated to just effects and weird pedals. My favorite shop was actually a tiny store that only had Japanese knockoff strats and les pauls and a bunch of vintage Orange heads (heaven!). To get to Ochanomizu take the Chuo-line (orange) to Ochanomizu and walk out and all of the shops are right there by the station. There are also a bunch of stores scattered throughout Shibuya and Shinjuku. If you tell me where your hotel is, I can give you an idea of how to get to everywhere.

• Members