Need to learn, where to start.

moorehed

• Members

I'm going to embrase the new forum :)

So here's the deal. I have been playing guitar for about 8 years. I took lessons for a while then basically have taught myself everything just from jamming. I am in a band now, have been for a couple years. I can write fine, I can play fine by feel... but when it comes to actual theory, actual teqnique, actual me knowing what note i'm hitting and why, i am at a loss.

Jamming stuff out i'm fine, i can find my way around the guitar, but i feel sometime's i am hesitnat because when i actually start thinking about it, i dont know why i'm playing what i'm playing, or how to play it better, change things up, etc. I feel my creativity is limited becaseu i dont know more theory and things...

also i find that most of the time i dont really end up playing that much when i'm not jamming with the band. I'd like some reccomendations on where to start getting back on track. some ideas on what stuff i should start learning first, and most importantly, a system that will help me to keep at it on a regular basis.

know this was rather longwinded... but...any ideas?

btw- stratcat, your review was the reason i got my agile LP about 6 months ago... it's great, thanks :D

• Members

well, i was laying in bed and thinking about how sad it is how little i know compared to what's out there.... then i started trying to figure out exactly what i do know...

all the major chords in the open position
a bunch of the minor chords
barre chords
power chords
octive power chords
a few other random chords

the notes in the first 12 frets on the 2 low strings off the top of my head
i can figure out any note but it takes me a bit of thinking time
about one blues scale that i officially know, in box form

can figure out time signatures... sometimes with a bit more work than others
i know there are thirds and fiths, sixths etc... not exactly sure of the thoery there