Teacher or Self-Learning?

• Members

Hi, exams will be over next week so I have been struggling with the question of whether to seek out a teacher or continue to learn on my own.

In your opinion, with all this guitar instructional material available over the net, what are some compelling reasons to learn from a teacher? Or should I stick to self-learning?

• Members

thanks for the link to the locator, but since I live in Canada, we have postal codes instead of zip codes... :(

I guess my concern is that: how do I tell if the teacher is a good teacher before I start? And if I go through a music school, what kinds of questions should I be asking the school to see which of their teachers is good for me? (besides "does he teach ___ style?")

• Members

I think whether or not you seek a techer depends more on your present "skill" level. I've been playing for about 7 years and my lead player, along with three other teachers have all told me that what I really need is just more experience, rather than instruction. They all say that a good teacher is nearly a necessity in the beginning and that self-taught players really do themselves a disservice by not seeking a instructor. Yet all but one of them are self-taught. Go figure.

Personally, I think any teacher should give one free lesson to see if him and the student click because if I hate my teacher, I'm not gonna listen to him or take his advice.

OK, so should you get a teacher? Probably. It's easier to show a technique than to describe it. it's also impossible to get immediate feedback on something you're trying to learn from a book or a video.

If you'd rather not get a teacher, I prefer learning from videos and cd's than books. Books are a pain in the ass, because it's hard to have a guitar strapped to your chest and then have to turn pages, and practically contort yourself to read the text.

So, I think I've really not helped here at all. Good luck anyway.

• Members