Losing my ring......confusing question

• Members

Okay, I'm not going to be able to explain myself very well, so you may not be able to help me, but I'm going to give it a shot.

My problem is with losing the pretty ringing I get when arpeggiating my chords (remember, I'm a TRUE beginner not even playing songs yet). My teacher has me picking the low E string before I pick each other string, in order, ascending and descending and then changing chords at a specific point.

When I make my chord change, which albeit is still not fluid or quick, I immediately kill the ring of the note(s). Is this happening because my chord changes are slower than the timing on my arpeggios?

Is there something I should be doing differently to make the strings keep ringing? Sorry, I know this is an atrocious explanation of my problem, but if you think you understand what I'm trying to explain and have any suggestions, I'm open to them.

THANKS!!!

• Members

I think you're saying as you pull your fingers off the chord to go to the next chord, in a slow chord-changing learning mode, you lose the ring on the notes? If that's it, then that's going to happen.

Once the pressure comes off the fret which is what the string rests on, your fingers mute the ring (unless you have metalic fingers or rock-hard callouses polished to a mirror finish) and once the finger is off the string moving to the next, the note will be the open note. I don't think you can do much about this - just treat it as an expected thing that happens until you can make lightning fast chord changes.

Some players will start playing the next chord before their fingers are set on the strings.

• Members

I'll bet if we could see what's happening we could identify the problem quickly.