Inspired...Now what?

• Members

On the weekend I got to see on of the guitar gods, Eric Clapton, in concert. I figured I'd either be inspired or depressed and it was the former. The reason for the question is that I have been playing on and off for about 25 years (mostly off). I have no formal training. Mostly I have played acoustic but recently I got a strat as well. I have been playing much more recently but I wonder what the best way for this old dog to learn new tricks is. The net is full of information but much of it can be piecemeal (though the site from this forum, Guitarknowledge.net is great!).

What are your opinions. Should I go and get lessons? Private I am guessing since I probably have too many bad habits to overcome in a group environment. Should I just continue practicing and using the web? I should also state that I cannot read music and most of the stuff I play is chords.

Thanks

Originally posted by nuke_diver

What are your opinions. Should I go and get lessons? Private I am guessing since I probably have too many bad habits to overcome in a group environment.

This would be the fastest way to gaining some musical ground. Private lessons are great for getting instant feedback about how you're playing, plus you can ask direct questions you might have about things.

Should I just continue practicing and using the web?

Continuing this along with lessons is a great idea. I would give you a 'second point of view' about things you might be going over in your lessons, or give you new things to work on and take to your lessons and ask questions about.

I should also state that I cannot read music and most of the stuff I play is chords.

Thanks

If you find a good teacher, he should be able to help you with this. Reading is essential for rock and blues guitar, but at least knowing how to will probably come in handy down the line, plus it will make you a better musician.