Harmonics??

myname1

• Members

I was just wondering how to put harmonics in the right key in a song. I have heard many recordings with them on it and I know how to make them, but how do you put them into a certian key? Or in a certian song? Is there a certian pattern to it? Take Jim Croce and "time in a bottle". OK, at the end of the song, he does some good harmonics with his accoustic guitar. But are they comming from a scale or pattern in the key he is playing in? I am kinda new to harmonics and how to apply them, but they do seem to intrest me.

• Members

I'm no expert on this, but, if you're simply asking what the notes for the natural harmonics on a guitar are, I believe harmonics at the 12th fret are the same as the open string's tuning, only an octave higher.

Harmonics played at the 5th fret are the same note as the open string, only 2 octaves higher.

Harmonics at the 7th fret, are an octave and a 5th above the open string's tuning.

As for how it all works, it has something to do with restricting the string's vibrations (but not full-on fretting) at key points along the string's length.

• Members

There is a natural harmonic at every fret. What their names are I have no idea. And it takes a helluva touch to get them to sing out, but they are there.

Taking a page out of Lee's book, you can get harmonics easier with higher levels of gain. But it does take a degree of touch.

• Members

2 types of harmonics:

Natural:

Natural harmonics are the harmonics you get when you lightly touch your finger on a certain point of the fretboard without pressing down and it rings, kinda like a harp. This info below is from my site www.theguitarsuite.com. Hopefully you can make some sense of it without the chart that goes along with it but if not it's at www.theguitarsuite.com/FreePages/flamencoclassical.html (I know harmonics don't fall under classical or flamenco but for some reason I put it there anyway)