Question about scales...

• Members

I'm studying a mix of everything now as a beginner and I'm just starting to learn the first few bits of theory. I learned about half steps and whole steps, how to compose each scale.

I just got done composing the C major scale and I have a question about how I should learn how to play it. After writing it down and coming up with it myself I used this site as a easier representation of the scale itself: http://www.all-guitar-chords.com/guitar_scales.php?qqq=+0&scch=C&scchnam=Major&get2=Get

Now, I noticed that on that site there is 13 differen patterns I can play the C major scale in. I was wondering if I should start from pattern 1 and work my way all the way to 13 memorizing all the different patterns? I was just wondering so that I can come up with as easy of a way as possible to memorize the scale so I can play it in different positions.

Any help at all is much appreciated.

There are many possible fingerings for scales, which at first may seem daunting, but in the long run it's a great benifit because you can have multiple options to finger potentially difficult lines.

To start with, I would work on the 5 basic positions of scales. These positions are all within a 4-5 fret span, with 2-3 notes per string. These are the easiest to finger and will cover almost all the situations you'll run into.

• Members

Originally posted by Poparad

There are many possible fingerings for scales, which at first may seem daunting, but in the long run it's a great benifit because you can have multiple options to finger potentially difficult lines.

To start with, I would work on the 5 basic positions of scales. These positions are all within a 4-5 fret span, with 2-3 notes per string. These are the easiest to finger and will cover almost all the situations you'll run into.

So in other words, I should map our the 5 basic positons myself and then learn them? Then branch out from there?