Definitive book for learning guitar?

• Members

So, let me tell you a little bit about where I am with my playing right now. I've been playing guitar for around 10 years. For the first couple of years I really got the bug and learnt to play a lot of songs from Tab. To give you an idea of my level, I can pretty much nail rock standards like Back In Black, Purple Haze, Brown Sugar, Black Dog, Stairway to Heaven, Won't get Fooled Again, Highway to Hell etc from end to end, solos included and I think my technique is pretty good. However, my grasp of theory is minimal to non-existant. I have the basic chords, barre chords and similar variations, a few positions on the minor pentatonic and that's about it. Everything I've learnt has been pretty much painstakingly from tab which of course is doubly hard if you don't really know what the hell you're playing. For the last few years I kinda got frustrated and stuck in a rut, scratching around and messing with my kit and tones and buying and selling to distract myself from the fact that I really wasn't up to much as a player and as a result I've played less and less to the point where I almost completely gave up and would spend most of my spare time on the golf course! Of late however, I've got the enthusiasm back and I really want to give my full attention to becoming a proper player!