first effects setup, point me in the right direction.

mr2good

• Members

I have been playing acoustic for a couple years. I just bought an ESP LTD1000 and a peavey delta blues 210 30 watt tube amp.

I have no idea which direction to take my effects. Should I look into an all in one solution like a tonelab se, get all my effects and a wah for around $400? Should I look into individual pedals? What about a tube driven distortion pedal? What kind of effects or tone pedals are most pertinent?

Basically, if you could start your effects board over from scratch what kind of setup would you reccomend to me?

If it matters, im into a more classic vintage tone like hendrix, gilmour, clapton.

The drive channel on my Peavey is ok, but Im sure I could get a much sweeter tone with some help.

Thanks!

• Members

Aahhh, I have a pedal for you.

The Foxrox Captain Coconut. It's hendrix/Gilmour pedal for sure. Fuzz, Vibe and Octave in one. Certainly a classy start to a pedal collection. Also look at the TZF Flanger. Pretty steep learning curve if you're new to effects but some wild sounds to be had.

wah would be another thing. Look at the Teese wahs. Generally considered the finest.

You could go for a multi-fx but I'd start here and also add a Boss DD20 to cover all your delay needs.

After that you can add fine exponents of any number of effects.

• Members

Originally posted by mr2good

I have been playing acoustic for a couple years. I just bought an ESP LTD1000 and a peavey delta blues 210 30 watt tube amp.

I have no idea which direction to take my effects. Should I look into an all in one solution like a tonelab se, get all my effects and a wah for around $400? Should I look into individual pedals? What about a tube driven distortion pedal? What kind of effects or tone pedals are most pertinent?

Basically, if you could start your effects board over from scratch what kind of setup would you reccomend to me?