Best old school punk distortion?

voneville

• Members

I'm thinking about trying a new pedal. I've been using the Turbo Rat for like 10 years, and want something different. Anyone heard the MXR zak wylde pedal? It claims to sound like a cranked JCM 800. It seems like most distortion pedals are geared towards metal, and most overdrive pedals just don't have the edge I want, too classic rock sounding. I might have to pick up another Boss DS-1.

• Members

Depends on what you consider "old school" punk. Johnny Ramone just used a Marshall for nearly everything he did, and most punk bands today play straight into Marshalls.

As for stomp boxes, I have heard that the original Marshall Guv'nor does have a great Marshall sound, and can be found quite cheap on eBay ($40).

How much are you willing to spend though? At what level do you play (bedroom player, clubs and bars, etc)? It may be worth it just to get one good tube amp and save the hassle of dealing with pedals.

• Members

Originally posted by ChitownTerror

Not to mention Husker Du was all about an MXR Distortion + and a flying V.

ibanez model

thats punk,

od1 sounds oldschool punk, u just gotta get what was available at the time. plenty of SS amps in the 80`s also

• Members

yup. I'm down with japanese copies of almost everything. If the Japanese made an affordable drummer, I'd import him/her/it!
:love:

give Behringer a few more years.

+ on the Dist+. to be different but very much the same, a Ross distortion.

what amp is being used?

• Members

yup. I'm down with japanese copies of almost everything. If the Japanese made an affordable drummer, I'd import him/her/it!
:love:

same here

two jap guitars and 1 korean, all three stand up against anything on the market

tokai goldtop from mid 80`s, strat copy from 70`s and an se prs soap

kickarse guitars and enough cash saved to pay the power bills and get my kids some plastic for chrissy

• Members

Originally posted by L6Sguy

give Behringer a few more years.