experiences in cheapo pedal rig(long thread)

harmonix

• Members

hi!
i just wanted to share my experiences as i know a lot of us are always looking for cheap alternatives to the 'real' stuff-

first of all: i'm a gigging musician so i need something reliable-
means: no dan-o or behringer plastic boxes here.
(though i must confess that some of them sound pretty good
they would never stand more than 20 gigs a year)

so here's my recommendations for pedals under 80 Euros.
(over here- but surely as cheap everywhere)

Tuner: Fender PT-100. Cheap, and good.

WAH: i recommend to look for a used dunlop Jimi Hendrix-
i found out that you get it mostly a lot cheaper than
the Cry Baby or the Vox. it's reliable and solid and sounds
great IMHO.

OD: 1. Yes, another Bad Monkey lover here! i have quite a lot experience with TS types of pedals and that little ugly green thing
works perfectly. used as a clean boost it doesn't affect your sound too much- just a very slight scoop of mids.
bypass is ok.
2. when you use your ts with more gain the TS7tonelok is also a good alternative. it sounds about as good as the ts9 reissue
and is very versatile by having a 'turbo'-switch.

DIST: 1. once you have realized that you can't get a Nu-Metal sound out of it the Boss MD-2 is a good choice IMHO.
2. the Rocktron Zombie wants to give you a 'Recto-Sound'- well it doesn't, but it sounds good!
3. a real bargain are the 'EXAR' pedals! handmade in poland, lifetime-warranty and pretty good sounds!
4. Zoom Hyper-lead and Trimetal. discontinued but often on ebay.
5. the good old rat
6. of course the boss ds-1 (boss' cheapest pedal)

EQ: 1. DOD FX 40b. as good as the GE-7 but half the price and less noisy.
2. allright. the dan-o fish&chips IS a good pedal.

Delay:1. i found the ToneLok DE-7 Delay/Echo to be VERY good sounding.
2. Digitech's Digidelay. sounds flatter than the DE-7 but has a Tap-Tempo function.

so here we have a pretty well working professional sounding effects set for under 300 EUR.