Tap Tremolo - Cusack or Emperess?

• Members

Ok, I'm on the market for one now, and I'm not looking at the crappy Line 6. From what I've found, there is a tap tremolo made by Emperess and Cusack (Tap-a-Whirl). They are both in the same price range. The Emperess looks cooler (not that I really care), and is slightly smaller, but the Cusack seems to have a cool brake function that speeds up or slows down the speed when you hold down the tap switch. They both look nice and have similar features, but I'm not sure which one to go for. Has anyone out there tried both of these? Or either one? Any feedback would be appreciated!

• Members

I like my Tap-A-Whirl, never tried the empresseffects Trem though, but I figured I was done with trying to find the right Trem after I got the TAW...OTOH, I don't think you 'd regret buying either or both. :idea:

• Members

i have no experience with the empress trem, but I have the TAW. I love it, the brake function is very cool, i use it alot. im definitely not looking for another trem pedal. the TAW does what i want, and then some, and sounds great.

you'll probably be happy either way though.

• Members

Just got the Empress....it rocks hard. The tube mode is superb! Very nice pedal and options galore. The dude at Empress is super cool and even did some custom mods for me on the tap tempo so I could control it from within my rack. Class act all the way! Do biz with this guy....we need more guys like him building sweet stuff.

• Members

I got my empress on saturday, I love it. As far as tone quality goes it sounds amazing, I haven't even scratched the surface on some of the options available.

Of course the tap tempo is awesome, but my favorite feature is the rhythm function. It allows the tremolo to accent a certain note in the series.... either the 2nd, 3rd, 4th etc... I'm glad I got mine, it's #35 and I know this pedal will be around for a while.

(I also jumped in when it was 199$ CAD instead of 249$!)

Tremolo.jpg

tremguts.jpg