choosing a second board, help!

march56

• Members

Hi,

I'm new to the synth. thing. I have a Yamaha P-80 which gives me the piano and some organ and strings for my "rig". I also have an E-mu piano module but it seems a dupllicate of my P-80 except for marimba. I'm in a smooth jazz group and I need a second board not weighted! and inexpensive. We are playing everything from funk to the Rippingtons. Also I'm not one to pay extra for a name. Originally I thought it would be economical to buy a used module and a controller but now I think it would be better to use a synth as a controller instead. Maybe a Kawai k-5000? I will need to cover horn parts, string parts and synth fill parts with this one as well as synth solo parts.

I really have no experience in this area except I used to run a roland k-100 or something with my E-mu and other than horrible action I had good sounds for under $200 and my current set-up sounds about the same with great action.

Thanks for the help!

-M.C.:thu:

• Members

You would want K5000W, not K5000S, because that doesn't have sampled sounds like horns, strings, etc.

But you might be better off with something like a Kurzweil PC2. Or just attach the rack module ME1, or even Roland XV series.

The K5000 is a complicated additive synth at heart... if you want stock patches probably go with a ROMpler. The K5000 is not what I would consider a lead synth, more like a pad synth.

I am not sure why the one you are using is insufficient. It sounds like you just want even better sounds... in which case why not get a module?

• Members

Originally posted by SaltyDogg

You would want K5000W, not K5000S, because that doesn't have sampled sounds like horns, strings, etc.

But you might be better off with something like a Kurzweil PC2. Or just attach the rack module ME1, or even Roland XV series.