Help me pick a MFX

pjmuck

• Members

Long post here so I appreciate your patience in advance.

I'm new to MFX and I've been playing in a steady cover band gig and my pedal board's quickly getting out of hand. I'm up over 16 pedals and I'd like to simplify things with a MFX and hopefully replace as many of these as possible. (or at least come reasonably close in quality). I've narrowed it down to the Boss GT-8, Line 6 PODXT Live, or the Zoom G9.2tt. My amp is a Rivera Rake 55w w a Marshall 1936 cab/Celestion Vintage 30's. I'm not so much interested in the amp modeling, but mostly quality effects that I can route either direct to my head or through the Rivera head's FX send/return. (or preferably both).

Here's what's on my board right now (in order). Note that I may keep some of these if I can't get specific effects to cover the ground in an MFX (like the Synth Wah, for example, which looks like only the GT-8 has synth patches). I'd also love to be able to route my effects in the same order, though it's pretty complicated right now (unless there's a simpler suggestion):

From guitar to Rivera amp input:

Boss LS-2 - POG and Synth wah in loop

Boss AC-3 - line out to a PA

Boss HR-2 - in both Rivera input and Rivera FX loop for tracking

Digitech Brian May Red Special - line out to PA

Digitech Synth Wah - in LS-2 loop

EH POG - in LS-2 loop

Boss CS-3 monte allums opto mod

Boss BD-2 Keeley mod

Boss NS-2

Dano Fish and Chips

in Rivera FX loop:

Peterson Strobostomp

Boss HR-2

EH Small Stone

Boss CE-2

Line 6 Roto Machine

Line 6 Echo Park

Digitech Digiverb

So here are my questions:

1. Will any of these MFX units enable me to disengage the amp models and run effects only direct to the head? Will any allow me to split the various effects to both the amp input as well as the amp's FX send/return? (i.e. delays, choruses, and reverbs to the FX send and others straight in).