Crybaby issues

jworkman

• Members

I took apart my crybaby tonight because I wanted to switch a few things around after modding it a while back. I did the true bypass, gain resistor, vocal resistor, low range cap, and mid boost resistor mods found at this page , and also removed the buffer circuit last time. This time I wanted to replace the gain resistor with the original value, and switch to a different model of cap for the low range. When I went to test it out tonight, it was dead! Signal passed through when the effect was turned off, but not when on. I tried a good battery, made sure that it was powered, but with no luck. I'm a beginner at electronics - any advice? What should I check first? Help!!

• Members

A little late for this advice, but when you're starting out at modding check the pedal (or amp, guitar, whatever) to ensure it works after every mod. This way if it stops working during the modding process you can always step backwards or resolve the problem as you know what caused it to stop working...

But on to some troubleshooting...some of the mods you mentioned seem to be replacing on component value with another. Check to ensure your soldering of the new components back into place is good and that none of the traces on the board have lifted (this is sometimes caused when you expose too much heat to the traces)

You say you removed the buffer, this was during a previous mod, yes? In which case it should be alright. But did you cut any traces in the board during the current mod?

I'd be suspect of the new switch. Get a multimeter and make sure the points that are suppose to be connected when the effect is ON are connected, that is make sure the wire from the input jack goes to the input of the circuit and the output of the circuit goes to the output jack. You might have a ground point connected to the output jack when the circuit is ON.