Laptop Advice for Keys/Recording/Synths/Personal Use

Palaver

• Members

I know that I've seen countless posts here on Mac vs. PC, but I'd like to hear some comments from those of you who are familiar with both worlds, and what you think would be best for myself.

My name is Phil Butler, and I am looking at spending around $1500 on a laptop (to give a ballpark figure). I am looking for a laptop that's reliable, and good for presentations (I will need such features for work). I am also going to learn how RECORD and SEQUENCE using this laptop, and I want something that I may use for potential soft synths.

I am a keyboarder and a drummer, and I plan on buying the Roland TD20S, and using it in tandum with my Korg Triton Extreme (I also plan on getting my hands on the Korg M3 and Radias expansion set). Basically, what I am asking, is which laptop is the most reliable and can run the most user friendly software for a noob like myself? I am a rompler whore, and I love hardware because I enjoy composing without getting caught up in technicalities (and forget what I was doing in the first place). I like to write and play live. I want a computer that is capable for this setting. I also want to use it to record my sequenced patterns/drum tracks, and overlay my vocals.

So here it is:

1) How much RAM do I need for this?

2) How fast of a processer, etc?

3) What software should I use to record my keyboard parts, vocals, and drum tracks?

4) What hardware components should I use to interface the drum brain and keyboard(s) to the computer?

5) Ultimately, why should I buy a Mac? Or why should I go for the PC?

6) Any advice on mastering hardware?