New here! Need help with XP-30

EVENTH

Guest Anonymous

What's happening! I'm new to Synths and I need to know if I can get that old Moog sound out of my XP-30? (I need to do some Rush keys.) Thanks!

Hello EVENTH. Welcome to the forum.

I have a Roland XP-60 which is similar to the XP-30. You should be able to get some Moog like sounds from that keyboard/synth. Have you gone through all the presets to see if there are any Moog like patches?

Im pretty sure that there are Moog waveforms which can be used to make a patch to your liking.

• Members

I'm new to Synths and I need to know if I can get that old Moog sound out of my XP-30?

Could you be a bit more specific - e.g. which Rush song, and which Moog (there's several models)? Do you have a Youtube video or sound example?

• Members

Here's a recipe you can use. I assume you just have a "default" XP-30 with no expansion boards.

Go to Expansion board C (Techno) and choose preset 161 (Simply June). That's a sound that gets pretty close, but we have to adjust it.

Hit EDIT. Choose "TVF" (this option can be found just below the display in the middle row). You see a row of numbers and letters and whatever you're editing has a blinking line below it. The button below TVF blinks, too.

Using the left and right cursors (next to the dial) you can choose what you want to change.

Go to "Type" and change it from BPF to LPF (using the wheel you can choose different options).

Go to "Cut" and change it to 104, change "Res" to 5.

Now, choose the option "WAVE". The light of that button starts to blink. You'll see XP-C 021 "TB SAW". Change it to INT-B 034 P5 Saw B.

Choose the option "CONTROL". Set ASSIGN to Solo. Set LEGATO to On. Press the "down" cursor button. Set TIME to 11.

To get the LFO working like it should (warning: rocket surgery ahead):

Choose LFO. Click the "down" cursor twice so you end up on LFO 2. Set Form to Tri, set Rate to 90. Go down again, set Delay to 0, Fade to 25.