Question about an OD pedal and my setup

• Members

Right now I am playing a Lonestar Strat through a tuner and straight into an Orange Rocker 30. Right now I have no way of quickly switching from light overdrive to hard distortion so I am thinking of buying an overdrive pedal. I have very little experience with effects pedals so be gentle :) I have my heart set on the Subdecay Liquid Sunshine right now, but I have a question. If I am using the pedal for overdrive through the clean channel and have the dirty channel set for high gain, I won't be able to switch the pedal off and the dirty channel on simultaneously so what do I do? Will leaving the pedal on affect my dirty channel sound a lot? Thanks for your time.

• Members

You could try using your amp's overdrive for the light stuff and using a pedal to either boost signal or add more distortion to your amp's distortion. In this scenario, I have no idea if the Subdecay would work -- I have no experience with it -- but there are probably a ton of pedals that could help you with this. Depending on the type of gain you want, a tubescreamer or ProCo Rat would probably get the job done.

• Members

Leaving the OD on and switching to the distortion channel won't hurt your amp . As for switching the OD off & channel changing simulataneously: you'll probably get used to switching them smoothly enough that the transition won't be so bad.

There was a mod that was posted here before where they put a true bypass loop into the Orange footswitch, so that when you switched channels it automatically took the pedal (in your case, an OD) out of the loop. I can't find the pics and info, but maybe someone else can. I'm always amazed what people here can dig up.

• Members

The Subdecay is a really nice pedal and a great choice. Switching initally to your lead channel and then turning the pedal off next should be pretty un-noticiable with a quick pedal dance.