ATTN: Fuzz builders.

• Members

Lots of options really. The 3904 is a very common NPN tranny. You can sub it with hundreds of others. Popular ones would be the 2N5088, 2N5089, BC108, 2N2222 (Although, apart from the 2222 these do have a fairly high hfe when compared to the 3904). It would be best if you posted all of the trannies that you have and we could give you the best match that you have....

• Members
It would be best if you posted all of the trannies that you have and we could give you the best match that you have....

I dont have any trannies(:eek:). LOL.

Kidding aside, I just got a kit. Its my first build. But I messed up the transistor (one of the wires broke off due to my ignorance).

Im just looking to go to Radio Shack and grab something, but they dont have any of the ones that I broke.

If I had my choice, the end product would be fairly gainy, without scooped mids, and with some nice highs. I dont know if a different tranny will do any of these things, but thats where you guys come in.

Thanks for the ideas so far.

• Members

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062609&cp=&sr=1&origkw=NPN&kw=npn&parentPage=search

You can check to see if other radio shacks near you have it by finding the In Store link on the right side. Not sure if you tried that, that's how I usually find parts if I need them asap.

You can also a package of general purpose NPN transistors at Radio Shack and try them out. I think the last package of those I got actually had 2N3904's in it.

• Members

With the 2N3904's or any transistor actualy ya best get a heap so you can get one with the right hfe for your particular pedal.The right hfe is the one that sounds best......dont know what hfe is? google it,then look at it in the pdf data sheets i gave links to,then use a digital multimeter to test your 2n3904's for the hfe,then try them,then youl know what hfe is and how it relates to a good sound or a {censored} sound in fuzz pedals.

Its not complicated,honest!