BYOC Large Beaver

• Members

Just finished building this tonight. I've never built or modded a pedal in my lie before, and i was pleasantly surprised that it fired up first time! it took about 3 or 4 hours in total and was a lot of fun, though slightly frustrating at times at the really fiddly parts.

been playing it for the last hour or so and i really like it. much better than the EH USA big muff, in my opinion.

tomorrow i'll be building my mighty mouse kit, so will post pics of both when done.

• Members

awesome good work

I'm interested in the Mighty Mouse and it's wonderful mods. Be sure to keep this page as a reference in case you're more adventurous...

http://www.beavisaudio.com/Projects/FKR/images/MightierMouse.gif

I highly recommend the Ruetz mod. I put a SPST toggle in my Turbo Rat to flip the 47ohm resistor on and off. Makes the pedal less harsh and perfect for certain OD applications. I may get around to putting in the 4th pot to make it sweepable. Got many other DIY projects to get to first...

• Members

Cool man. Everytime I have the money in my PP account, I forget to get a BYOC. I did a fuzz build (First Fuzz Clone or something - easy and cheap) and I loved it. Like you said, the tricky parts were quite frustrating, but overall it was a fun learning experience. Only thing that really blew was that the board was literally about 1/2"x1".

• Members

finally got to spend an hour with the Beaver yesterday, very good stuff indeed. i dont see too many other muffs in my future now. or at least not a need. single coils + muff = mmmmmmm...

of said hour, a good 20 mins was spent using the drive=0 for a barely raunchy grit when digging in. very good stuff.

• Members

Congrats on the builds, I have the MM and LB with all the mods...just waiting for the flanger to come out.