Odd question for any theory/tone buffs here.

ooooo

• Members

well.. i guess it could be a tone/key question... anyway.

what key/pitch/tone (not sure of the right terminology) is "she's got a way" by billy joel off of the "COLD SPRING HARBOR" album?

the story:

ok recently went home for vacation and just before had asked my parents to get their upright tuned by a professional because it needed it. was dissapointed when i started playing with my harmonica ( key of C) and it was clearly not in tune... thought it was tuned a half step down or up for some reason... anyway i frequently play along to cd's from the stereo so i put in some songs that i knew were tuned up or down on the recording and it didn't match any of them. I was like... ok, i guess this guy they had come tune it just did a lousy job and it is in between keys or something...

THEN... just by chance on the cd player i had "She's Got a Way" by Billy Joel off the Cold Spring Harbor album and it was EXACTLY in tune with my piano ??? When i got home i played that track while transposing every key i had on my digital piano and it doesnt match any of them. So what is going on here? What key (or tuning) is that track in ? I've heard of different tunings based on the A frequency or something.... A440, A420.. or whatever they are.... is this what is up, or is something else going on? I want to know so i can explain to the piano tuner the next time i go home... i doubt that he and billy's piano were both accidentally tuned to the exact same pitch. haha. Any help is mucho appreciated!!!!!!

NOTE: this only applies to the "she's got a way" track off of the cold spring harbor album.... the one's from his greatest hits and live cd's are in the key of C. there is a snippet of it here to listen to on the sample tracks:

http://www.amazon.com/Cold-Spring-Harbor-Billy-Joel/dp/B00000DCHH/ref=pd_sim_m_6/102-5666312-6316133?ie=UTF8&qid=1180126525&sr=8-10

• Members